We Are Christians and not Catholics Because we Choose to Follow Christ

by Christiandefenders

Being called a Christian is much better than being called a Mormon, a Baptist, a Catholic, or an Adventist! Hope you will not deny Christ. – Bro. Eli Soriano


I would like to expound my answer to a comment made by Manny on this blog. Recently, Manny Cruz who is a member of the Catholic Church was referring to preachers who snatches away people from the genuine faith that is of God. If I were to analyze what Manny has been really thinking of. It would be safe to presume that as a Catholic, he believes that the Catholic Church is on the side of the truth which is of God which is the reason why he is defending the Catholic belief so much on his comments. It would also be safe to presume that he is referring to preachers of other religions who uses the bible to preach and were successful in converting members from the Catholic Faith. He stated that these preachers were enriching themselves by using the bible in preaching.

Although it is true that there are really preachers outside the Catholic Church who are enriching themselves by preaching the bible and teaching people to give money as if God needs money, there are still preachers who preaches the word of God because of good intention. Despite the fact that there are really false prophets who are going around to deceive people, God still sends his prophets in order to bring people to know the truth. If we will rationalize the idea, we cannot say that something is false if something true is not available. However, believing whether a person is a prophet of God or false is subjective. Your belief should be guided by the right reasons base on the instructions of Christ written on the Holy Scriptures.

Let me share some reason why former Catholics like me choose to leave our former religion and embrace Christianity as our Faith. I’m going to use and quote from the testimonies of former Catholics which is compiled on one of our blogs http://keytothelockedbook.wordpress.com which we also maintain.

Bro. Mark, one of my friends who also posts his comments on this blog says that he noticed that the teachings of the Catholic Church is very different from what he read from the bible. I’m going to quote some paragraphs from his statement.

Bro. Marks says,

I became an active member of the Catholic Church when I join the Claret Youth Movers in our Church in Zamboanga whose Patron Saint is St. Anthony Mary Claret. I was also an active in the Charismatic Group’s Music Ministry because I love to sing. Aside from that, I also became active in Catechism wherein I strongly believe that joining them is right in order to propagate the Catholic teachings which I believe is true in the eyes of God. In summary, I became active in the church for more than 7 years.

While I was reading the Bible, I noticed that our teachings were different from what I have read which gave me some doubts. I started to ask myself why the teachings of the Lord Jesus Christ are different from the teachings of the Catholic Church.  I also asked questions to my friends about the Bible but they couldn’t answer but “You’ll really get crazy if you will really follow the Bible.

There was a  period in human history wherein the bible can be read by rich people because printing press is not available. There was also a period when the bible is forbidden to be read by the masses by bigot religious leaders torturing bible owners and burning their copies. In our era, the bible is regarded as the best selling book of all times. It is in fact the most widely read book in the world making it easier for people to know more about Christianity. It is not a surprise if Mark was able to read a copy of the bible and compare it with Catholic teachings base on Catechism. Rather than believing something because he was told to believe, Mark finally realize that he needs to start investigating. That’s were proper analysis and searching comes in place. Fortunately, he was able to hear a preacher who has the same line of thinking as he has.

Bro. Mark says,

“One day while I was watching television with my parents. They were channel surfing that has a nice show.  It happens that they came across Channel 13 where the program of Bro. Eli Soriano is. I realize that what he was saying is correct and nothing was wrong. I was able to see wrong things with Muslims and Born Again but I can’t see any wrong teachings with Bro. Eli on TV.

There was also a time in my life while I was teaching Catechism in public school that my conscience bothers me because I was told that what I was teaching my students is wrong. It happens each time that I’m in class. It also happen each Flores de Mayo with children. I cannot clear my conscience knowing that what I teach is wrong. Sometimes, because it bothers me every time I teach Catechism, I teach them what Bro. Eli is saying that the Administration doesn’t know. I told them to listen to Bro. Eli because what he is saying is correct.

Time pass by that I decided to leave the Catholic Religion because of my belief that our faith is wrong. Because I continue to listen to Bro. Eli on television, I decided to attend indoctrination that our Coordinator in Catechism doesn’t know. They want me to enter Priesthood because of my potential but I don’t want to be a priest. They call me Bro. Mark during that time.”

It is very understandable that the reason why a person who used to teach Catechism to young students was converted to the Christian Faith is because of proper investigation. On the other hand, a lot of Catholics who chooses to remain Catholic fails to realize that it is more proper to believe because of right reasoning coupled with the right analysis of facts rather than to believe because of blind faith.

Apparently, it is blind faith that produces vacuum in the hearts and minds of people who are just made to believe that Catholicism should be their religion. That vacuum forces people to find something to fill it in which is not present in the Catholic teachings. That is the reason why they would resort to search for it in other churches. Another interesting testimony which is part of our compilation comes from Sis. Jecelita.

Sis. Jecelita says,

“I’ve been through different religions with different false preachers that have come into this world. I was affiliated with the Catholic Church since birth until my early 20’s. I have never been taught the real teachings of God by those false preachers misleading people’s mind.

At my early 20’s I had started searching for another church which I thought could give me a better understanding of what life really meant. I kept on searching and I went from one church to another.

Then one time, my cousin’s husband invited me to what he called a “grand bible exposition” in our town. From the time I entered the venue, I had a feeling that I couldn’t explain upon seeing like thousands of people gathered inside. We arrived little late and Bro. Eli had started explaining in the midst of the crowd about the state of being of Jesus Christ.

While seeing him on stage, I was thinking that “THIS MAN IS SO DIFFERENT FROM THE OTHERS AND THE ONLY ONE WHO TEACHES WITH INTELLECT AND BIBLICAL PROWESS. A REAL MAN, STRAIGHT FORWARD WHEN HE PREACHES.” Since then, I have never gone back to my church. I have never attended any church gathering anywhere at all.

Then I went abroad. I found myself with the feeling of emptiness. Then came to me a hundredfold of questions that struck my mind and that kept me sleepless, bored, lonely, hateful guilt-ridden and insecure. These kept on bothering me for days.

One day, my employer came home with a newspaper and placed it on the table. While he was away, I slowly scanned the first page. As I skimmed the pages, I found an advertisement of the Ang Dating Daan, and with it were Bro. Eli’s pictures on the page!

I was surprised, but was glad to be able to call the phone number stated there. The one at the end of the line gave me the location. I was already asking for a possible time for indoctrination. When I got to their locale, there was a baptism being held and I was told to come next time for indoctrination.

I kept on calling them and I kept on coming back to their locale. I have witnessed God’s grace in the person of Bro. Eliseo Soriano. Soon, I got indoctrinated and got baptized on August 28, 2005 by Bro. Sonny Catan in Canada. I now recall how sinful I was then during those days.”

It is very evident that the Catholic teachings does not really suffice the vacuum which is inside a person’s heart. Base on the testimony that we have read, that vacuum was filled when she tried to search and find what is sufficient for her to believe as the genuine Christian teaching.

There are instances when people would realize that what they thought as proper worship attributed to God is not a proper worship at all. Catholics likes to pray in front of statues and relics. This testimony of Sis. Zenaida talks about a life that’s change when the knowledge of proper worship was acquired.

Sis. Zenaida says,

The first and foremost reason why I admire Bro. Eli Soriano very much is that he knows by heart the Bible verses from cover to cover and he sees to it that his explanations were easily understood by everybody.

He also teaches and informs all his listeners, who are members and non-members of the Church of God not only about Religion but also about Science and Alternative Medicine as well.

Moreover, I was enlightened when Bro. Eli pointed out the Catholic manner of worship and prayer which are abominable in the eyes of God.

As the Bible states: “Worship no God but me. Do not make for yourselves images of anything in heaven or on earth or in the water under the earth: Do not bow down to any idol or worship it, for I am the Lord your God and I tolerate no rivals. I bring punishment on those who hate me and on their descendants down to the third and fourth generation,” (Deuteronomy 5:7-9).

All of us know that all Catholic churches are adorned with these idols and relics made by human hands. Furthermore, Matthew 6:6 states that, “When you pray, go to your room, close the door, and pray to your Father, who is unseen. And your Father, who sees what you do in private will reward you.” When I was still a Catholic, I used to pray rosary out loud during street processions which, according to Bro. Eli, is against God’s teaching.

In addition, services such as Baptism, Confirmation, Wedding Ceremonies, and the like which are rendered to parishioners are all supposed to be paid whilst Jesus admonished His disciples to give without being paid for they themselves have received without paying.

These are the major reasons why I left the Catholic Church and don’t want to continue displeasing God.

I thank God for the enlightenment He has given me through Bro. Eli Soriano.

One purpose of having a religious belief is to know how to properly worship God. When people suddenly finds out due to proper investigation that worship should not be done in front of statues and Icons which is present in Catholic churches, they feel guilty and heed to the proper teaching that worship should only be done in front and attributed to God alone.

The reasons behind we choose to leave the Catholic Church is easy to understand by a discerning mind. We came to realize due to proper investigation that the Catholic Church is not Christian enough to properly impart the Christian teachings to its members. We also realize that the Christian faith should not be blind and has to conform with rational ideas which is founded on Christ’s words rather than the words of the Pope in Rome.

Certainly, we are not snatched away from the true church. On the other hand, we decided to leave the false teachings of the Catholic Church and cleave to what we believe as the genuine teachings of Christ. We don’t acquire faith because we are blind followers. We are very fortunate that despite the fact that we have become blind followers of false prophets from our former religion, a genuine prophet of God was able to send us God’s message and took us out of darkness into God’s light.

If you want to understand us better, you may do what we did. Investigate and read the bible in order to find out that the Catholic Religion does not belong to the Christian God.

18 Responses

  1. To Christiandefenders:

    It’s truly sad to hear testimonies of people leaving the true Church in exchange for a “new” one. But that’s a reality that we Catholics are partly to blame, perhaps because we never taught them properly as they should. Then they meet the right kind of people that effectively breaks down their already shaky understanding of the faith. And so they are hooked. Millions of them!

    Bishop Fulton J. Sheen could not have said it any better. He said:

    “There are not a hundred people in America who hate the Catholic Church. There are millions of people who hate what they WRONGLY BELIEVE to be the Catholic Church — which is, of course, quite a different thing. [emphasis mine]

    • How can we wrongly believe of what the Catholic Church really is when we have examined and carefully analyze its teachings and compare it with the teachings of Christ? We have come to the inevitable conclusion that it is wrong to call our preacher “Father”, it is wrong to kneel before graven images and carry them in a parade, it is wrong to pray vain and repetitious prayers like the Rosary, it is wrong to give payment to teachings like Baptism, Wedding and Mass for the dead, we have learned that there is no such thing as purgatory and all sorts of invented teachings which only came from Catholic traditions. In addition, some of us have discovered that Catholic Priests and Nuns does not walk their talk. Despite of their vow of celibacy, they would choose to fornicate, abort their babies but refuse to get married. We are not blind followers of people in white clothes but wolves in sheep’s clothing.

    • To Manny Cruz: Even though how many times you will going to teach Catholic doctrine to the person who is a seeker of truth, the truth will always prevail. We are not blind to see something that is obviously wrong. I believe in Christ words rather than obeying the man made teaching.

  2. To Manny Cruz:

    I understand your feeling Manny, because I know the reason why you defend your belief, because in your heart you believe that the Catholic Church is the real church establish by God. During my former years I also defend that belief. I came across with Born again members, Pastors and some Muslim friend. But as I go on, I see something that is really wrong in my former religion not only the people but the Doctrine itself in which they called practices. With proper investigation, I always read the bible, my conscience always telling me that what you are doing is really wrong. I told my friends about the words of Christ in the Bible, Catechist, Coordinators, and Defenders etc. but they always answer me things unanswered “You will really get crazy if you follow the bible” So finally, I decided go out. It is God who called me by his Grace and mercy, by means of his Gospel written in the Bible not a person itself alone. I believe in Christ words rather than obeying the man made teachings. Hope that what I saw in your doctrine and practices can also be seen in the eyes of your heart, it is written Ephesians 1:18, And that can be done with God’s help.

  3. I have a question to bro mark and christian defender..

    1. when was the establishment of the church of God mentioned in the bible?

    2. where it(church of God) was established?

    3. when can we read from the bible that by just reading the bible you can be a preacher?

    4. church of God is the one mentioned in the bible and not church of God Internatiol registered by Eli in SEC?…why

    • When you say that you have a question, it means that you have only one question. If it’s more than one, you have to say that you have a couple of questions. The establishment date was obviously during Christ’s three years of ministry on Earth.

      A person cannot be a preacher just by reading the bible. He has to be sent.

      (Romans 10:15)
      And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!

      The next thing that needs to be established is to know whether a person is sent by God or not. We can only know and confirm that base on the teachings.

      (John 7:17-18)

      If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself. He that speaketh of himself seeketh his own glory: but he that seeketh his glory that sent him, the same is true, and no unrighteousness is in him.

      Looking at the teachings of Catholic Priest, we can conclude that they are not sent by God. Vain repetitious prayers are forbidden by the Lord Jesus Christ which Catholics do when praying the Rosary and kneeling and praying before graven images is prohibited for Christians. There is also no such thing as Purgatory. Catholic Priests are in no way sent by God because their man made doctrines base on traditions falsifies that.

      The complete name registered in SEC is Members Church of God International which is completely base on the bible.

  4. The religion founded by Eli Soriano is not Church of God if you don’t know. It is named: CHURCH OF GOD INTERNATIONAL. That cannot be found in the Bible.

    Then they have many names for their church. They keep on changing it when they are loosing in the Supreme Court. Check this out:

    “The organization was formerly known by many names, such as Iglesia Ni YHWH at ni YHWSA HMSYH and Church of God in Christ, the Pillar and Ground of the Truth (Mga Kaanib sa Iglesia Ng Dios kay Kristo Hesus, Haligi at Saligan ng Katotohanan sa Bansang Pilipinas, Inc) among others. It is not related to the many Church of God groups that descended from the Barney Creek Meeting House revival of the late 1800s in the United States. While calling itself a Christian denomination, it is considered to be a cult by nearly all mainstream Christian denominations due to their belief that only the leader of their church (Eliseo Soriano) can interpret and understand the Bible, that Jesus Christ, while “a” god is a lesser god than the Father, and that God is not Omniscient or Omnipresent.” [Wikipedia]

    As you can see the name of that religion has been CHANGED several times. Then it is only founded by Eliseo Soriano who has nothing to do with Jesus and His Apostles. Don’t be deceived by that Satanic cult.

    kindly answer this christiandefender from Father Abe…

    • You just actually have to read the articles posted by Heavensknight in order to answer your question.

      https://christiandefenders.wordpress.com/2009/12/20/ekklesia-kata-holos-catholic-church-can-this-be-considered-as-the-rightful-translation-2/

      https://christiandefenders.wordpress.com/2009/12/24/is-the-name-catholic-apostolic-roman-church-biblical-part-2-a-response-to-beltran%E2%80%99s-rebuttals/

      The name “Church of God” is mentioned in the Bible multiple times while the Catholic Church is not. Not even the Catholic Translations mentioned that name.

      2 Corinthians 1:1
      Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, and Timothy our brother, To
      the church of God in Corinth, together with all the saints throughout Achaia: …

      1 Corinthians 1:2
      To the church of God in Corinth, to those sanctified in Christ Jesus and called
      to be holy, together with all those everywhere who call on the name of our Lord …

      Galatians 1:13
      For you have heard of my previous way of life in Judaism, how intensely
      I persecuted the church of God and tried to destroy it. …

      1 Corinthians 10:32
      Do not cause anyone to stumble, whether Jews, Greeks or the church of God– … …

      1 Timothy 3:5
      … (but if a man does not know how to manage his own household,
      how will he take care of the church of God?), …

      1 Corinthians 11:22
      … Or do you despise the church of God and humiliate those who have nothing? … Or do you
      despise the church of God and humiliate those who have nothing? …

      Acts 12:5
      … So Peter was kept in the prison, but prayer for him was
      being made fervently by the church to God. …

      Ephesians 1:22
      And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him
      to be head over everything for the church, …

      Acts 20:28
      … Be shepherds of the church of God, which he bought with his own blood. …. …

      1 Corinthians 15:9
      For I am the least of the apostles and do not even deserve to be called
      an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. …

      Having registered different names does not mean that we are changing names. That is a false interpretation of what we are doing. Aside from the name Church of God, there other names used in the bible to refer to the congregation of Christians.

      King James Bible
      (Romans 16:4)
      “Who have for my life laid down their own necks: unto whom not only I give thanks, but also all the churches of the Gentiles.”

      King James Bible
      (Romans 16:16)
      Salute one another with an holy kiss. The churches of Christ salute you.

      King James Bible
      (1 Corinthians 14:33)
      For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints.

      We can read different names for the congregation where Christians belong but doesn’t mean that they are changing the name of the Church. Similarly, we can be called and is registered by many names but it doesn’t mean that we are changing our names. There is no prohibition from SEC that a Religious Organization cannot be registered using different names.

      As an advice, don’t use Wikipedia as your defense material even at school. It may make your grades go down for citing Wikipedia. Wikipedia is an unreliable source.

      Avoid Wikipedia, warns Wikipedia chief
      It can seriously damage your grades

      By Andrew Orlowski • Get more from this author
      Posted in Music and Media, 15th June 2006 23:51 GMT

      Wikipedia founder, Jimmy ‘Jimbo’ Wales, has warned students not to refer to Wikipedia, reports the US education weekly, The Chronicle.

      Wales said that he gets about 10 e-mail messages a week from students who complain that Wikipedia has earned them fail grades.

      “They say, ‘Please help me. I got an F on my paper because I cited Wikipedia’” and the information turned out to be wrong, he says. But he said he has no sympathy for their plight, noting that he thinks to himself: “For God sake, you’re in college; don’t cite the encyclopedia,” the journal reports.

  5. But you added the word international…hoho..and that invalidate your claim….

    • Prove it.

  6. you told a while ago…the preacher must be sent…now who send brother eli to preach? where did he get his authority to preach?

    • Ask him directly and he shall tell you.

  7. you said “..The complete name registered in SEC is Members Church of God International which is completely base on the bible.”….now give me the verse where it is stated….

    • That is an impertinent question because we don’t base our beliefs on a single verse. Our beliefs are base on the entire bible.

    • Just wait Ozner, that one will be discussed in the Part 2 of our topic.

      Related topic: The Advantage of Being Biblical (Part 1)
      https://christiandefenders.wordpress.com/2010/02/01/the-advantage-of-being-biblical-part-1-response-against-immanuel-cruz%E2%80%99-attacks/

  8. why i have to ask bro eli directly? you are his defender right? ..its onlys shows you dont have any verse in support to your claim…hehehe

    I will repeat just tell me if you dont know and i gladly accept..dont point out another person ok?

    1. Give me the verse exactly says that the name of the church is Church of God International..

    2. Where did Eli get his authority to preach.. verse please…

    3. To whom did bro eli ask permission or to whom he talk with in joining the Church of God…since we all know that the Church of God mentioned in the bible is 2002 yrs old already?

    • To say that we don’t have a verse to support our claim or beliefs is an ignorant accusation. This statement came from somebody who has not even heard the entirety of our doctrines which can be proven to be base on the scriptures. Those queries have been practically answered by the articles posted on this blog. If there are further queries, it will be best to ask the preacher directly if you are not content to what we have written. This will be the last time that I will be approving your comment. I don’t want to tolerate your insolence.

  9. Obviously, Ozner is fond of using argumentum ad ignorantiam.

Leave a Reply

